Visit the Great Primate Handshake's Facebook group Visit the Great Primate Handshake's You Tube channel Follow our primate conservation expeditions on Twitter Receive the latest Great Primate Handshake news via RSS



Kenya lies across the equator in east-central Africa, on the coast of the Indian Ocean. The country borders Somalia to the east, Ethiopia to the north, Tanzania to the south, Uganda to the west, and Sudan to the northwest. In the north, the land is arid; the southwest corner is in the fertile Lake Victoria Basin; and a length of the eastern depression of the Great Rift Valley separates western highlands from those that rise from the lowland coastal strip.

Kenya is home to Africa’s famous “Big Five” (Lion, Elephant, Rhino, Leopard and Buffalo), these each contributing to Kenya’s 400 different mammal species, which include 7 primate species. Over 1000 different species of birds and  numerous reptile species also call Kenya their home. This varied and diverse wildlife has resulted in the creation of 48 National Parks and Reserves.

For more information on the sanctuaries we have and shall continue to work with in Kenya click on the links.